top of page



Isabel Miquel Arqués in dialogue with

Virginia Woolf


Beyond Borders – Isabel Miquel Arqués in dialogue with Virginia Woolf is the second book of the Beyond Borders trilogy in which the artist engages in a conversation with three female icons who have always been part of her artistic universe: Karen Blixen, Virginia Woolf and Georgia O’Keeffe.

Isabel Miquel Arqués discovered Virginia Woolf when she read To the Lighthouse at the age of sixteen. Her admiration for Woolf’s unconventional thinking and groundbreaking writing has accompanied her ever since. A visual artist working with photography, Arqués is fascinated by Woolf’s pictorial writing which she qualifies as ‘post-impressionist, cubist, and sometimes even fauvist’.  

This book is divided into nine ‘waves’ – referring to Virginia Woolf’s most experimental novel, The Waves –, each wave representing a different chapter in the writer’s life. Such as Woolf, Arqués tries to tell a visual story by following a rhythm rather than a narrative.

The images created by Arqués in response to Woolf’s writing are accompanied by quotes from the latter’s books and diaries : an intimate and intriguing conversation between both women unfolds.


Geukens & De Vil Gallery

L1110253GOLD TREE copy.jpg
Screen Shot 2023-12-12 at 14.32.42.png
bottom of page